Family ties: Rates of social media adoption

26 01 2009

I read Roger’s innovation-decision process and agreed with how he defined the process into steps: Knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation and confirmation. These steps can, of course, be defined correctly in a number of ways, but I saw no flaw to Roger’s approach.

I especially agreed with Roger’s generalizations of “early knowers” because of a recent interaction I had on Facebook with my aunt, a “late knower,” that I could relate to:

1. Earlier knowers of an innovation have more education than do later knowers.

Related to Facebook, this is absolutely true. She contacted me to ask how she could “become friends” with my sister just last week. Because I’ve been on Facebook since 2002, I obviously have more knowledge about Facebook than my aunt (who just recently joined Facebook) because I’ve had more time to acquire it. However, I have a hard time seeing a general correlation between higher education and early knowers related to social media because quite often early adopters (teens and tweens) are far less educated than late adopters (adults).

2. Earlier knowers of an innovation have higher social status than do late knowers.

I don’t mean to brag, but… Really, I have more friends, more connections, more of a network than my aunt because of my early adoption.

3. Earlier knowers of an innovation have more exposure to mass media channels of communication than do later knowers.

I’m not sure if I have as many mass media channels, if those channels are to be defined broadly into, for example, music, video, etc. However, if the channels are defined as sources rather than media than, yes, I do have more channels via groups, news streams, etc.

4. Earlier knows of an innovation have more exposure to interpersonal channels than do later knowers.

I definitely have more exposure to interpersonal channels because of my more extensive networks and access through these networks.

5. Earlier knowers of an innovation have more contact with change agents than do later knowers.

This is totally true. Having joined Facebook when it was just limited to college students, I was much closer to the structural changes that occurred on the site as well as the feedback channels, which have since become more distant. Because my aunt just joined Facebook, she missed the opportunity to access these.

6. Earlier knowers of an innovation have more social particpation than do later knowers.

My participation is much higher than my aunt’s because of the amount of time and opportunity I’ve had to particpate in Facebook. As a result, I have more wall postings, pictures, etc. However, I have far fewer messages and applications than my grandmother, who, despite her short time on the site, has invested a large amount of time into it. Thus, time of adoption may not always correlate to level of participation.

7. Earlier knowers of an innovation are more cosmopolite than later knowers.

Related to my aunt, this makes sense. I live in Ballard, she lives in Lake Forest Park. Enough said. However, my roommate has yet to adopt Facebook at all, so the correlation is defintely a generalization. I’d be curious to know what percentage of Facebook users live in urban vs. suburban vs. rural locations. I’d assume, like Rogers, that the majority live in urban locations.

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 01 2009
The Buzz » Blog Archive » Blow Job Wiesbaden

[…] Family ties: Rates of social media adoption « Word Is Born (Reprise) […]

27 01 2009
kegill

Nicely linked to your life, Paolo.

27 01 2009
Week 4 - Class Notes « evolution and trends in digital media technologies

[…] essays of note: Christy, Paolo, Pei-Chieh, Ross,  […]

Leave a Reply

